Fourth Annual Meeting

Westminster Choir College
Princeton, New Jersey

March 17-18, 2006

Download as .pdf file.


Friday, March 17, 2006

1:00-2:00 p.m.  Registration (Talbot Library 4/5)

2:00-2:30 p.m.  Dorothy Payne Award for Best Student Paper (Talbot Library 1)

"Topical Pairing as Compositional Strategy in Mozart"
Matthew Boyer, Indiana University, Bloomington

2:30 - 4:00 p.m.  New Perspectives on Music Scholarship (Talbot Library 1)

"A Structuralist View of the Growth and Development of Knowledge in Music Scholarship"
Karen Fournier, University of Michigan

"A Probability Function for Subset Embedding and Its Implications for Abstract Pitch-Class Relations"
Justin Hoffman, Columbia University

"Repetition Theory"
Brian Hulse, Christopher Newport University

4:30-5:00 p.m. Business Meeting (Talbot Library 1)

5:00-5:45 p.m. Reception (Talbot Library 4/5)

6:00-7:45 p.m. Banquet (Williamson Hall)
Presentation of the Dorothy Payne Award for Best Student Paper

Saturday, March 18, 2006

7:30-8:30 a.m. Officers Meeting (outgoing and newly elected) (Talbot Library 1)

8:00 a.m. Registration (Talbot Library 4/5)

8:00-9:00 a.m.  Continental Breakfast (Talbot Library 4/5)

9:00 - 10:00 a.m.  New Perspectives on Music Theory Pedagogy (Talbot Library 1)

"Asymmetric Meter Pedagogy for the 21st Century: Classification, Iconography, Solfege, and Musical Examples"
John White, Ph.D., Ithaca College

"Constructing "Musical Horse Sense":  Applying Fink's Paradigms for Significant Learning to Music Theory Instruction"
Bruce Kelley, Ph.D., Shepherd University

10:00 - 10:30 a.m.  Break (Talbot Library 4/5)

10:30 - 11:30 a.m.  Schoenberg's Break with Tonality (Talbot Library 1)

"A Nostalgic Farewell to Tonality:  Arnold Schoenberg's Setting of Richard Dehmel's Poem 'Alles'"
Cynthia Gonzales, Texas State University

"Emancipation of Dissonance:  Music, Text, and Gesture in Schoenberg's Second String Quartet, 'Entruckung'"
Martin Lee, State University of New York at Buffalo

11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.  Discovering Musical Essences (Talbot Library 1)

"Emerson, Lake and Palmer's 'Toccata' and the Cyborg Essence of Alberto Ginastera"

Kevin Holm-Hudson, University of Kentucky

"Core Components of Jimmy Webb's 'Didn't We'"
Thomas Robinson, The Graduate Center, City University of New York

12:30-1:30 p.m.  Luncheon (Scheide Student Center Dining Commons)

The members of the 2006 Program Committee are: Ellen Flint, Chair (Wilkes University); Shellie Gregorich (Mansfield University); Michael Klein (Temple University); Joel Phillips (Westminster Choir College); and Carl Wiens (Nazareth College).

The 2006 Officers and Board Members of the Society are: 
Pamela L. Poulin, President (Peabody Conservatory of Music); Eric McKee, Vice-President (Pennsylvania State University); Joel Phillips, Secretary (Westminster Choir College); James Hiatt, Treasurer (James Madison University); Board Members:  Ellen Flint (Wilkes University); Dora Hanninen (University of Maryland); Kevin Holm-Hudson (University of Kentucky); Heather Felman (Student Representative; Graduate Center of the City University of New York); and Webmaster Kip Wile (Peabody Conservatory of Music).

Return to 2006 Meeting page

Return to main MTSMA page